Unreliable History

Cheltenham Town were founded by Albert Close White (or Albert Cream as he came to be known) in 1887.

Playing local football with local Gloucestershire cricketers joining the team, the Robins moved through the Birmingham Combination (a.k.a. the Safe Cracker’s League) and into the Southern League, before progressing through the pyramid system to the Football League in 1999, when they won the Conference Premier League.

When the club started off they originally wore rugby shirts but they kicked these into touch when they changed to red and white stripes in 1932 and were named the Robins for this reason.

Bobbing around the lower divisions, Cheltenham have won promotion to the third tier on two occasions through the play-offs and failed to do so in 2011-12, losing the final to Crewe Alexandra.

Their movement up in class has seen Whaddon Road been transmogrified into the Abbey Business Stadium and fans will be hoping that the team do the business on the pitch to see them move up to League Two again soon.


Famous Players : – Frank “Twister” Hazard, Gilbert Jessop, Bob Taylor, Barry “Scrabble” Addict, Andy Gray, Jim Black, Neil Grayson.

Famous Fans : – .


Club Records

Formed 1887

Turned Professional 1932

Became a Limited Company 1937

Previous names

Previous grounds Agg-Gardner’s Recreation Ground, Prestbury =
Whaddon Lane =
Carter’s Field = – 1932

Nickname “THE ROBINS”


Club Colours
[Images courtesy of the wonderful Colours of Football website]


Record Football League Win

Record Football League Defeat 1-8  v  Crewe Alexandra  (League Two)  02.04.2011  

Record Cup Win 12-0  v  Chippenham Rovers (FA Cup Third Qualifying Round)   02.11.1935

Record Fee Paid £50,000 to Aldershot Town for Jermaine McGLASHAN (January 2012)

Record Fee Received £1.5 million from Bristol City for Mo EISA (July 2018)

Record Appearances (includes non-league appearances) 702  –  Roger THORNDALE  (1958-1976)

Record League Appearances 258  –  Jamie VICTORY  (1999-2007)

Record League goal-scorer 38  –  Martin DEVANEY  (1999-2005)

Record all-time goal-scorer 290  –  Dave LEWIS  (19??-19??)

Record goal-scorer in a League season 20  –  Julian ALSOP    Division 3   (2001-2002)

Record goal-scorer in a season 53  –  Dave LEWIS  –  Southern League First Division North   (1974-1975)

Most goals scored in a League match ??  –  ?? v  ??  ..

Record Home Attendance 8,236  v  Reading  (FA Cup First Round)     17.11.1956

Record total of goals in a League season 67  –  League Two  (2017-2018)

Record League points total 3 points for a win  :  82  –    League Two  (2020-2021)  (46 games)

Most Capped Player while at club 7  –  Grant McCANN  (Northern Ireland)

Youngest Player Simon GOODWIN  –  16 years and 245 days  v  Burton Albion  (Conference)   09.03.1996

Oldest Player Derek BRAGG  –  42 years and 83 days  v  Farnborough Town   (Conference)   07.04.1999


Stadium details 

Address :   Jonny-Rocks Stadium, Whaddon Road, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire GL52 5NA

Telephone :   01242  573558
Ticket Office :  01242  573558  (Option 1)

Capacity :  7,200
Away Allocation :   1,100
Pitch size :  m x m  (  yards  x   yards)
Official website :   ctfc.com


There are good directions to the Jonny-Rocks Stadium on the Cheltenham Town website and more information on the Away Days website.


League Two Champions  (Fourth Tier) 2020-2021

Conference Champions  (Fifth Tier) 1998-1999, 2015-2016

Conference Runners-up  (Fifth Tier) 1997-1998

FA Trophy Winners 1997-1998



Jimmy BRAIN  1937-1948 

Cyril DEAN 1948-1950

George SUMMERBEE 1950-1952

William RAESIDE 1952-1953

Arch ANDERSON 1953-1958

Ron LEWIN 1958-1960

Peter DONNELLY 1960-1961

Tommy CAVANAGH 1961

Arch ANDERSON 1961-1965 

Harold FLETCHER 1965-1966

Bob ETHERIDGE 1966-1973

Willie PENMAN 1973-1974

Dennis ALLEN 1974-1979

Terry PAINE 1979

Alan GRUNDY 1979-1982

Alan WOOD 1982-1983

Dave LEWIS (Interim) 1983

John MURPHY 1983-1988

Jim BARRON 1988-1990

John MURPHY 1990

Ally ROBERTSON 1990-1992

Lindsay PARSONS 1992-1995

Chris ROBINSON 1995-1997

Steve COTTERILL 1997-2002

Graham ALLNER 2002

Bobby GOULD 2002-2003

John WARD 2003-2007

Keith DOWNING 2007-2008

Martin ALLEN 2008-2009

John SCHOFIELD (Interim) 2009 

Mark YATES 2009-2014

Paul BUCKLE 2014-2015

Russell MILTON (Interim) 2015

Gary JOHNSON 2015-2018

Michael DUFF 2018-


League Record

The Football League structure has historically been as follows …

1888-1892 1892-1920 1920-1921 1921-1958 1958-1992 1992-2004 2004 to date
First tier Football League Division One Division One Division One Division One Premiership Premier League
Second tier Division Two Division Two Division Two Division Two Division One Championship
Third tier Division Three Division Three
(North) and (South)
Division Three Division Two  League One
Fourth tier Division Four Division Three League Two

Promoted to Division Three  (Fourth Tier) 1999

Division Three (Fourth Tier) 1999-2002

Division Two  (Third Tier) 2002-2003

Division Three (Fourth Tier) 2003-2004

League Two (Fourth Tier) 2004-2006

League One  (Third Tier) 2006-2009

League Two (Fourth Tier) 2009-2015

Conference  (Fifth Tier) 2015-2016

League Two  (Fourth Tier) 2016-2021

League One  (Third Tier) 2021-